Just when you thought it was safe to surf the web… pow! You learn something you didn’t need to know. And now that it’s wedged into my brain and I can’t get it out, it’s my job to share the joy with everyone else.
I was randomly following Wiki links and came upon a page about sugar and candy, where I learned this wonderful little gem:
Other ingredients commonly found in candy that are not vegetarian or vegan friendly include: carmine, which is a dye made from the cochineal; and confectioner’s glaze, which may contain wings or other insect parts.
This is the sort of thing that I guess wouldn’t go well on the label of a bag of goodies. Wings and other Insect Parts. (And yes, incase you’re wondering, the cochineal is also a bug.)
Yum! Can I have some more?